My dear teenage girl… 

My dear teenage girl, God knows I love you. I have never met you, yet, the love I have for you is profound. 
I dunno how or why, but there’s this deep connection I feel with you. I love you. 

You see, I’ve been surrounded by so many teens and tweens of late. It’s been trying, to be honest, but at the same time,  it’s been very very interesting. Being with teens, I kinda know somethings about me now. I found out that I’m kind of a disciplinarian and somehow I balance this discipline with so much love. 

You know why I do this? Because I’ve been a teen once, and I fully understand the workings of being a teen . It’s a special period, one that I won’t forget in a long time. I hate when teens get misunderstood, I hate when no one wants to hear what they really feel. I hate when every time someone does something, it all boils down to teenage rebellion. I just want them to be understood. It goes deeper. I understand, cos I’ve once been a teen. I love listening to you guys. 

 I must say though, that there’s this combination I love- being a Christian and a teen. It makes you different, it makes you unique, a kind of uniqueness different from the one you find yourself in (being a teen is a unique thing,  cos this is when values and attitudes are formed.)

My dear teenage girl, I love you, and I don’t want you to be carried away, I want you to be focused and at the same time, enjoy these teenage years. I want you to be different, not to be sucked into the pressure that comes with being a teenager. There’s this high that comes with being a teenager, I can assure you. I’ve been on this high before. It felt good until I came down. Oh my God, how horrible I felt. You see I’m not saying there’s no enjoyment, there’s  a FAÇADE of enjoyment, so that when the veil comes off, you’ll see that enjoyment for what it truly was. 
My dear teenage girl, I love you and I want you to seek God at an early age. It might be trying and hard in this present times. Oh it  will not  might. There’s no point sugar coating it, it was hard for me, at almost every point,trust me, God can help you. You can enjoy your teenage years without breaking all the rules. Trust me. 

Hey baby! You’re a queen, so rock every bit of that crown!

To every teenage girl out there who gets to read this, I want to say thank you. I want to tell you, I truly Love you, I mean it. You know what? God loves you over a billion times than I do. 

Much love. 

7 thoughts on “My dear teenage girl… 

Leave a Reply

