Thankful glasses vs complaint glasses

Dear teenager,  

All I want to talk to you about is thankfulness. My dear teen, in this stage of life that you have found yourself in, you somehow always find a reason to complain, because somehow, you think the world revolves around you. So, once something doesn’t suit you, you complain. 

Source : Google

As a teenager, I used to complain like hell about so many things. I was a good child overall, but I complained a lot. This seeped into my late teenage years, my parents used to tell me how often I complained and how much it irritated them. Oh! my brother hated it!

I used to think everyone was exaggerating, but I found out myself. In my 4th year, a once distant friend and I became really good friends, and boy have I learnt so much! Whenever there was any issue or trouble, I noticed the way I handled it was entirely different from the way he did. This was either because of personality differences or immaturity (on my part), majorly the latter. You would always hear me ranting (and my voice becomes really irritating when I’m upset, not like I shout, but the pitch becomes sopranoish) and then he would just be quiet (and I’ll be like “isn’t he moved at all?”  of course, he’s human, he’d be moved, but then he decides to view life through a  particular pair of glasses while I look at it through the “complaint glasses”, and then he’ll tell me to give thanks always and that everything works out for good. 

Source :Google

Thankfully, God helped me embrace this way of viewing things through the thankfulness glasses, because in truth, there’s always one good thing in the midst of the bad no matter how little. I complain a loooooooottttt less. And I’m so thankful to God for that. 

Two weeks ago, on a Saturday, some kids came over to our house. They’re all teens. There’s one of them I don’t particularly like, cause of his attitude to people generally, but I still talk with him. 

On this day, I ate more than I usually do, and when I was done, I said in Yoruba  “mo ti yo ju”  which means I’m too full. And he said in Yoruba “aunty Lois (I hate the aunty part) eyan o kin so pe o ti yo ju, instead, e so pe Oluwaseun” which means “Lois, one doesn’t say I’m too full, instead, you should say thank you Lord” Wow was all I first said, and then I thanked him for that beautiful insight. 

So many people have it worse than you do, some don’t know where their next meal will come from, some have no homes, but you’re mad your mom bought Mac products instead of Mary Kay, or you’re mad about one other trivial thing. The world doesn’t revolve around you honey, it doesn’t. You can’t always have it your way. The least you can do is to be thankful to God for all you have. Okay? And pray for those who don’t have as much as you do. 

Some people always have it worse than you do. There’s always a worse case scenario. In the midst of  gloomy sky, there’s a star hiding, it’s your job to find it and hold on to it, except you want a miserable life.

Source: Google

I Love you, and I  always will,

Your online sister.  

4 thoughts on “Thankful glasses vs complaint glasses

Leave a Reply

